Veggie Venue 2 — “Phap Quang” ; 31 Ton That Thuyet Street, District 4

Phap Quang: 31 Ton That Thuyet; District 4, Ward 18

I found another veggie spot (Com Chay) in district 4.   This one, called Phap Quang, is in the southeast corner of this triangular-island district of SaiGon that we call simply “District 4” (Quan.4/Q.4).  This street is the southern border of the district – running the full length of the canal along the longest side of the D4 triangle.  This locale is quite close to the southeast corner… just a bit before the bridge in the corner and the 2 little parks found there.

"Phap Quang" Sign Above the Locale at Night

This was the second time I have eaten here.  The first time I was here, I didn’t have my phone with me (and therefore no camera).  This place is really cheap (15,000 dong for a nice sized plate and a small soup).  The first time I came here, it was midday and she must have given me 3 cold Vietnamese teas.  This time, I was there at dusk and it was much cooler.  She didn’t bring any tea and she must have seen that I was kinda in a rush and I had all of my dogs with me, so they set up a table for me on the sidewalk.  If I had asked for a tea, of course I would have gotten one.  This place isn’t the cleanest and the food mostly tastes average, but it is Com Chay and it is cheap (and I felt good after both meals).   The fake meat reminds me of real meat so much, that I don’t like it too much… but I tell myself it isn’t meat and surely it doesn’t have meat broth added to it.   surely they would do that.

"Phap Quang" Sign at Streetside

Overall, I recommend it for the price, the soup, the tea, the serving size, and the fast service.  Weak points:  main courses are, let’s say “average” and this locale might be a BIT “ghetto” for some.  The Com Chay in D4 that you can find in an earlier entry on SaiGon Vegetarian (located on Huang Dieu Street), seems to have a little bigger selection, is less “ghetto”, and is only a bit more expensive (still very cheap).   That place on Huang Dieu Street is also pretty much in the middle of D4 and not far from the bridges to D1.   I plan on frequent both of these eateries.

Meal at Veggie Venue 2Soup at Veggie Venue 2
About Glenn Zen

Musician (Vocalist/MC), Whippet-Breeder/Trainer, vegetarian, presently living in Poland. Other residencies: California, Texas, Maryland, Delaware, VietNam.

Posted on May 4, 2011, in Com Chay, District 4, Restaurants/Cafes/Bars, SaiGon, Vegetarianism, Veggie Venues and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

